Save to shopping list
Create a new shopping list
Safe shopping
Idosell security badge
The Librarian of Auschwitz

The Librarian of Auschwitz

  • 'It wasn’t an extensive library. In fact, it consisted of eight books and some of them were in poor condition. But they were books. In this incredibly dark place, they were a reminder of less sombre times, when words rang out more loudly than machine guns
39,99 zł
incl. VAT / szt.
Express checkout 1-Click(without registration)
14 days for easy returns
Safe shopping

For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice: this is the story of the smallest library in the world – and the most dangerous.

'It wasn’t an extensive library. In fact, it consisted of eight books and some of them were in poor condition. But they were books. In this incredibly dark place, they were a reminder of less sombre times, when words rang out more loudly than machine guns…’

Fourteen-year-old Dita is one of the many imprisoned by the Nazis at Auschwitz. Taken, along with her mother and father, from the Terezín ghetto in Prague, Dita is adjusting to the constant terror that is life in the camp. When Jewish leader Freddy Hirsch asks Dita to take charge of the eight precious books the prisoners have managed to smuggle past the guards, she agrees. And so Dita becomes the secret librarian of Auschwitz, responsible for the safekeeping of the small collection of titles, as well as the ‘living books’ - prisoners of Auschwitz who know certain books so well, they too can be ‘borrowed’ to educate the children in the camp.

But books are extremely dangerous. They make people think. And nowhere are they more dangerous than in Block 31 of Auschwitz, the children’s block, where the slightest transgression can result in execution, no matter how young the transgressor…

The Sunday Times bestseller for readers of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice. Based on the incredible and moving true story of Dita Kraus, holocaust survivor and secret librarian for the children's block in Auschwitz.



Title The Librarian of Auschwitz      The heart-breaking Sunday Times bestseller based on the incredible true story of Dita Kraus
Author  Antonio Iturbe Lilit Zekulin Thwaites
ISBN 9781529104776
Publisher
Ebury Press
Number of pages 432
Publication date 2019
Dimensions [cm]
19,8 x 12,6
Format
paperback
Category Places of extermination
Language English
Shipping time 24 hours
Author
Antonio Iturbe
ISBN
9781529104776
Do you need help? Do you have any questions?Ask a question and we'll respond promptly, publishing the most interesting questions and answers for others.
Ask a question
If this description is not sufficient, please send us a question to this product. We will reply as soon as possible. Data is processed in accordance with the privacy policy. By submitting data, you accept privacy policy provisions.
Write your opinion
Your opinion:
5/5
Add your own product photo:
pixel